Work Experience

For my project of professional practice we were given the assignment of work experience which includes either working as a photographer or assisting a photographer. The work experience needs to add up to 4 days worth of work. I decided to do a bit of assisting and working as a photographer to get the experience of both. I am really looking forward to doing this project as it gives me the chance to learn by assisting a photographer and also learn by doing my own shoots and sometimes making mistakes.

During my first experience a friend of mine (Sandra) friend asked me if I wanted to take pictures of Sandra to put on a album front cover for a project of theirs, Sandra also asked me to take pictures of her which she could put on her Facebook, linkedIn and Instagram accounts. The first thing we did was meet up to get an idea of what Sandra and her friend was looking for and coming up with four different outfits which work well not only on the album cover but also for Sandra’s profile image. After planning the clothes and the lighting they wanted we were ready for the shoot. On the day of the shoot I set up two lights with full length soft boxes on them. For my first experience the shoot went really well there was no problem sorting out the lighting and I felt confident about doing this shoot as I had done a lot of planning but also because my model was my friend and I think that made me relax and get into the shoot and get the shots they both wanted. After the shoot I then made contact sheets of all the images and we sat down and looked at all the images and they picked the images they wanted, I then went away and edited the images with the preferences they wanted and sent them back. Looking through all the images form the shoot below are my favourite images and contact sheets.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My next shoot was for a girl called Asia doing the foundation degree of Art and Design at Plymouth College of Art she asked me to take pictures of a garment for one of her projects as she is going on interviews soon to apply for university doing a fashion degree so she needed images of this garment to show off her work to the interviewer. Like my first shoot, the first thing I did was meet up with Asia to figure out what kind of lighting she wanted that would best show off the garment but also the style of images she wanted, also during the meeting we talked about what kind of model she wanted and in the end she decided that she wanted to find the model herself. On the day of the shoot there was a couple of problems, firstly the lights was not going off with the sky-port after a long time  of trying to figure it out I had to go and ask the ERC what was wrong with the lighting as I knew I had the sky port on the right settings. When they came to see the lights they explained that the lights that are normally in there had been changed that day and I had to have on a certain light so that all the lights would trigger when the sky-port goes off. After finally sorting out the lights I was able to do some test shots before the model and Asia arrived. After waiting for some time as they were both late we then got down to taking the images, this part went really well as I had done some planning on what kind of posing and the style of images I would do during the shoot and so did Asia this was useful as If I could not think of any poses Asia had some ready. After the shoot I then made contact sheets of the images and we both sat down to look at all the images and decided which images would work best for her portfolio. After deciding on the images I then went away and started to edit the images straight away as she needed them for the next day. Looking back at the project, though there was some problems with the shoot I think I learnt and in the end really enjoyed the shoot. Here are my favourite images and contact sheets from the shoot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For my next task I decided to assist a wedding photographer as I thought it would be a great experience not only to do my own photography but to also learn from another photographer as well. I decided to assist Ian Stevens who is a wedding photographer and has been for a long time, he is also in his first year of commercial photography. The day was long and tiring but I really enjoyed myself and got to learn a lot about wedding photography. The day started at 8 and ended at 8, after getting off the bus and meeting Ian at the place we had agreed on beforehand, we got into the car and head to look at the place he was going to take the bride and groom after the ceremony to take some images of the two of them we scouted the area looking for the best places to take the images, Then we got into the car again and headed to our first tasks of the day which was taking out all the equipment from the car and putting it into the venue. We then we started the task of taking pictures of the seating, cake, name tags and flowers etc. next the groom arrived with his best man, mother, Father and brother and Ian took pictures of them before we headed to the church. Whilst he was taking the images  I held the lighting. After taking pictures of the groom and his close family and best man we head to the church and set up the camera to film the wedding which I would be filming during the ceremony whilst Ian was taking images of the ceremony.  We then took images of the bride and groom and family and friends outside the church. After the images outside the church we made our way to the place we were taking images of the bride and groom, however when we got there it was raining so we had to get back into the car and head to the reception, where we would take images of all they had asked for of them and their family and friends. However, because it was raining we had to find room to do it inside and we got out the lighting equipment to setup a small studio inside to get some great images. Next we had to take images of the bride and groom greeting the guests. Then we had a sort of break whilst everyone was eating and then we took pictures of the speeches. It was then time for me to go home I really enjoyed the day and I learnt a lot from the experience and I would defiantly want to do some more assisting work in the future which could be in wedding photography or another genre, One of the things I learnt from the day is that no matter how much planning you do there is always something that is not going to go to plan, so try not to get stressed about it and find a way around it. Here are the contact sheets of the images I took during the day and my favourite images.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After my experience with assisting I then went back to doing my own photography work for this assignment and brought what I learnt from the experience into my own work. I was asked by someone in my class called Harry to take pictures of him for his blog, the blog is about street fashion and photography It is something he has just started to write but is already getting lots of readers so I thought it would be a great experience and also get my name out into the world as Harry will credit me on his blog for taking the images. The images he wanted were of a jumper that was sent to him as they wanted to advertise the product. For the images we decided to go down to the Hoe and take some by the beach huts and the surrounding area. I found this experience a lot of fun and enjoyed coming up with different poses and places to take the images that would best adverts the jumper. Here are the contact sheets from the day and my favourite images.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are the images form the shoot Harry Put on his blog

Harrys Blog address is –  https://harrymaxlewis.blogspot.co.uk

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I then helped Harry again two more times but this time assisting him in the studio whilst he was doing his colour shoot and the high key light shoot for the fashion project. I first helped him in the studio doing the high key lighting during this day I helped him setup the lights be his test model to make sure the lighting was perfect before his really model arrived and during the shoot moving the lighting with the model and doing anything Harry wanted me to do whilst he focused on taking the images and posing the model. Then the next day I did the same with the colour shoot. For Harry’s colour shoot he decided to use gel lighting so as well as sorting out the lighting throughout the shoot I was also changing the colour gels when he wanted to try different colours with the different clothing. I enjoyed assisting Harry in the studio as it gave me more time in the studio and practising using the studio lights. Here are some images of my assisting in the studio

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For my final task of the assignment Asia came back to me asking if I could take some images of her final project as she was really happy with the images I took for her before the images would then be hung up next to the garment and shown in the end of year exhibition. Like before we first met up to find out what kind of lighting she wanted and the style of images she wanted, we also had to plan when I would book the studio as when we first met up she had not finished making the garment which was being made out of latex we also decided that she would find the model herself again and that because this is her final project and these images will be shown in the exhibition we would also get some to do the make professionally to help show case the top. On the day of the shoot I got into the studio and setup all the lighting before Asia and the model and the make artists arrived so that we can start shooting straight away The top and the makeup were very different to anything I had seen before and it looked very fashionable. This was defiantly my favourite task throughout this entire assignment as it felt very professional I was taking images of the model giving poses whilst Asia was acting like the stylist giving more suggestions of poses and moving the garment if needed whilst every so often we would stop shooting so that the makeup artist could touch up the makeup. After the shoot I then made contact sheets again and we went through the images and she picked out the images she liked best so that I could edit them. I think the shoot turned out really well and I am so pleased with the images and Asia seems really happy with them too I think it was a great experience and I really enjoyed it. The makeup artist also asked for some images during the shoot of the makeup so that she could also put the images in her portfolio. Here are my favourite images from the shoot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall I have really enjoyed all the experiences I did for this assignment and I am defiantly going to carry on finding people who want images taking and also try and find some assisting work during the summer with a photographer. I have learnt a lot from this experience whether that is by watching a photographer or by doing I have enjoyed it all. If you count up all the hours of all the experience I have done It comes to over four days worth of work. In adding up of my hours I have Included the planning beforehand of shoots, the shoots, the looking at images after the shoot, the editing of images and for the assisting the photographer I counted the experience as a days worth of assisting.

 

