Statement of Intent Advertising Photography

For this assignment called Advertising Photography we have been asked to take pictures of products in the studio and on location. I plan to take these images in an interesting and unique way, which shows my camera technique and experimental understanding of different product photography techniques.

By the end of this assignment I plan to have a mood board showing different ideas I could try, contact sheets and test shots. I will also examine the work of photographers in this theme and use this as the inspiration for my final four images.

I will also write an evaluation talking about what went right, what could have gone better and my learning for next time.

Location is everything for a shoot and as two of my images are going to be on location I need to make sure I pick the right place. However, as I’m not sure what my two products will be yet, I am not sure what will be there perfect place to shoot. I am really excited for this assignment as it will give me more chance to experiment with product photography and expand ideas I have. I also plan to use Photoshop at the end of this project to make the image perfect and get rid of any imperfections. However, I don’t want to over produce the image as I want the image to look as natural as possible.

For this project I plan to briefly look at photographers which can relate to my work and maybe take some ideas for their shoots and somehow bring it in to mine. In particular I want to learn more about lighting setup or the differing techniques they have as they do their shoots. The photographers I want to focus on are:

  • Jonathan Knowles
  • Tm Tadder
  • Diana Miller
  • Taylor James
  • Jan Steinhilber.

I really hope this projects goes well and I can use it as a way to expand my skills within product photography and come up with some great product, location and technical ideas that will make the final images outstanding.

Images by Diana Miller

33_Oranges.jpg

 

